The Filipino Adobo Ingredients Can Be Found in Indonesia!

 

Allow me to eat what I said in January. It is actually possible to cook Adobo in Indonesia.

Remember that I said why it’s impossible to replicate that popular Filipino dish of meat deepened and darkened by its marinate because I just couldn’t find the following the right toyo and suka? Well, I found their counterparts here:

 

That Japanese Soy Sauce, Kikkoman

Why didn’t I even think about this. Probably because this has a stronger flavour and smell (compared to Filipino soy sauce) that I didn’t bother considering using Kikkoman at first. Also, this costs IDR 48,600 (PHP 181.73) at Lai Lai. Compare that to Datu Puti’s 1L Soy Sauce at PHP 37.00 (IDR 9,896.81)

kikkoman-soy-sauce
Kikkoman Premium Soy Sauce costs IDR 48.600 in Lai Lai (Jl. Arjuno No. 36, Kauman, Klojen, Kota Malang)

Chinese White Vinegar, Narcissus

rice-vinegar
Narcissus White Rice Vinegar is an alternative to Datu Puti Vinegar. I lost the receipt of the transaction that included this item. But it’s also available in Lai Lai. 🙂

This costs between 18,000 – 25,000 rupiah (PHP 67.28-93.44). Forgive me; I threw the receipt by accident). It’s not as sour as Datu Puti’s coconut vinegar, but at least it’s not like any of those ultra acidic Indonesian vinegar.

Now off to the question: is it possible to make a real Filipino Adobo using these two?

The answer is yes.

You’re welcome.

3 thoughts on “The Filipino Adobo Ingredients Can Be Found in Indonesia!

  1. I’m so hungry, Mick. Can you cook Adobo for me? I know, it’s hard to find specific ingredient and expensive here. You can start make your first Filipino dish in Malang. Thanks for reading my blog. And I’ll keep continue writing now.

Leave a Reply

